aleator classicus

Reading at Random in Classical Literature

Anonymous, palindromic couplet (Anth. Pal. 387**)

leave a comment »

One of a number of poetic palindromes collected by Maximus Planudes (6.13). I don’t think we know the author of these lines, but I’m willing to be corrected if anyone knows. I’m quoting the text from the Didot edition of 1888.

σοφὸς ἔγωγε ἤδη ὢν ἄνω, χαρᾷ τῶν ἄνω, γελῶ τὰ
κάτω, λέγων· ἄνω ταραχῶν ἂν ὦ, ἤδη ἔγωγε σοφός.

Now that I am wise, being above and in the bliss of those above, I laugh at the things below, saying, ‘I shall be above troubles, now that I am wise.’

I have so far been unable to translate this palindromically! My translation assumes that ἂν ὦ is an instance of the emphatic future (cf. Chantraine, Grammaire Homérique II.212).

Written by aleatorclassicus

July 19, 2010 at 12:00 PM

Posted in anonymi

Leave a Reply

